Available languages:
Panel Discussion on Eliminating Violence against Women - 16th Meeting, 35th Regular Session Human Rights Council
13 Jun 2017 -  Annual full-day discussion on the human rights of women

Panel 1: Accelerating efforts to eliminate violence against women: engaging men and boys in preventing and responding to violence against women and girls
Chair: H.E. Mr. Joaquín Alexander Maza Martelli, President of the Human Rights Council
Opening statement: Ms. Kate Gilmore, United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights
Keynote speaker: H.E. Ms. Karen Ellemann, Minister for Equal Opportunities and Nordic Cooperation, Denmark
Moderator: Ms. Lana Wells, Brenda Strafford Chair in the Prevention of Domestic Violence, University of Calgary, Canada
• Ms. Dubravka Šimonovic, Special Rapporteur on violence against women, its causes and consequences
• Mr. Anthony Keedi, Masculinities Technical Adviser, ABAAD Resource Center for Gender Equality, Lebanon
• Mr. Francis Oko Armah, Youth Activist, Curious Minds, Ghana
• Mr. Abhijit Das, Co-Chair of MenEngage Alliance and Founder of Men’s Action for Stopping Violence against Women, India

- 16th Plenary Meeting
35th Regular Session of the Human Rights Council.

HRC extranet (information on daily updates, draft documentation, copies of oral statements etc.)

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Ms. Joanna Roper
Australia, Ms. Frances Lisson
European Union, Ms. Anne Marjut Kemppainen
Bahamas (on behalf of Group of Country), Ms. Rhoda Jackson
Brazil (on behalf of CPLC) , Ms. Maria Nazareth Farani Azevêdo
Norway (on behalf of Group of Country), Mr. Hans Brattskar
Slovenia (on behalf of Group of Country), Mr. Klemen Ponikvar
El Salvador (on behalf of CELAC), Ms. Carmen Elena Castillo
Canada (on behalf of Group of Country), Ms. Rosemary Mccarney
Egypt (on behalf of Arab Group ), Mr. Ayman Ammar
Tunisia (on behalf of African Group), Ms. Intissar Ben Attitallah
United States of America, Mr. Alexander Mayer
Plan International, Ms. Anya Gass
International Commission of Jurist, Ms. Briony Potts
United Nations Watch, Ms. Sonia Zvedeniuk
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of), Ms. Manuel Garcia
Italy, Ms. Daniela D’orlandi
Egypt , Mr. Ayman Ammar
Spain, Mr. Diego Cano Soler
India, Mr. Sudhakara Reddy Annepureddy
Germany, Ms. Ulrike Johag
Sierra Leone, Ms. Folake Idowu
El Salvador , Ms. Carmen Elena Castillo
Malaysia, Ms. Syuhada Adnan
Bangladesh, Mr. Toufiq Islam Shatil
Sao Tome & Principe, Mr. Arminda Nobre De Carvalho
Bosnia & Herzegovina, Ms. Dijana Tabori Dorovic
Israel, Mr. David Levy
Senegal, Mr. Serigne Dieye
Dominica, Ms. Shearlyn Joseph
Make Mothers Matter, Ms. Valerie Bichelmeier
Conseil International pour le soutien, Mr. Abdulhameed Dashti
Swedish association for Sexuality Education, Ms. Valerie Bichelmeier
World Young Women's Christian Association, Ms. Naomi Tai
Recent Video On Demand