Available languages:
Organizational Session - 7th cycle Human Rights Council
10 Dec 2012 -  This meeting has been convened for the purpose of electing a new President and four Vice-Presidents for 2013, so that the Council will be operational as of 1 January 2013.
Ambassador Laura Dupuy Lasserre, Statement as outgoing President of the Council

Montenegro (Coordinator of the Group of East European States to nominate a candidate to the position of President of the Council)

H.E. Mr. Remigiusz Henczel, Permanent Representative of Poland, elected President of the Human Rights Council for the next Council year 2013.

Election of Vice-Presidents
- His Excellency Mr. Cheikh Ahmed Ould Zahaf, Permanent Representative of the Islamic Republic of Mauritania, for the Group of African States;

- His Excellency Mr. Thani Thongphakdi, Permanent Representative of Thailand, for the Group of Asian States;

- His Excellency Mr. Luis Gallegos Chiriboga, Permanent Representative of Ecuador for the Group of Latin American and the Caribbean States;

- His Excellency Mr. Alexandre Fasel, Permanent Representative of Switzerland, for the Group of Western European and Other States;
(The President-elect and Vice-Presidents-elect will serve as members of the Bureau from 1 January to 31 December 2013.)

Statement by Ms. Kyung-wha Kang, Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights

Ecuador (on behalf of GRULAC)
Iran, Islamic Republic of (on behalf of NAM)
Senegal (on behalf of African Group)
Pakistan (on behalf of OIC)
Russian Federation
Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
United Arab Emirates
International Service for Human Rights