Available languages:
Key elections at UN headquarters
18 Jun 2020 -  For their first visit to the United Nations Headquarters since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, UN Member States vote in key elections. Mr. Volkan Bozkir of Turkey was elected as the next President of the General Assembly. In a separate vote, India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway were voted onto the Security Council, along with Kenya, which was elected in a second round of balloting on membership in the 15-member body. New members of the Economic and Social Council were also elected.