Available languages:
Opening of the High-level Meeting on Mali and the Sahel.
25 Sep 2019 -  The security situation has deteriorated significantly in Mali and the wider Sahel region since 2012-2013. Widespread poverty, unemployment, marginalisation, economic inequalities, lack of governance and access to basic services are the main causes of instability. Environmental factors, including shrinking natural resources in the face of increased population growth and the impact of climate change, further exacerbate tensions between communities. Violent extremist groups have fuelled and exploited these grievances and spread radical ideologies from Mali to Burkina Faso and Niger. The trend is now expanding to the northern regions of West African coastal States, particularly Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, and Togo. This growing situation of insecurity threatens the significant democratic achievements and development progress of the region. The United Nations proposes to host and co-chair with Mali, Burkina Faso, in its capacity of acting President of the G5 Sahel and the Nouakchott Process, Algeria, leader of International Mediation for Mali, and the African Union (AU), a High-level Meeting on Mali and the Sahel, on the margins of the General Debate of the United Nations seventy-fourth session of the General Assembly. The Secretary-General of the United Nations, H.E. Mr. António Guterres; the President of the Republic of Mali, H.E. Mr. Ibrahim Boubacar Keïta, and the President of Burkina Faso, H.E. Mr. Roch Marc Christian Kaboré, representing the rotating presidency of the G5 Sahel, will open the meeting. The Minister of Foreign Affairs of the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria, H.E. Mr. Sabri Boukadoum; the Minister of Europe and Foreign Affairs of France, H.E. Mr. Jean-Yves Le Drian; the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, H.E. Mr. Moussa Faki Mahamat; the EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy and Vice-President of the European Commission, H.E. Ms. Frederica Mogherini, and the President of the Commission of the Economic Community of West African States, H.E. Mr. Jean-Claude Kassi Brou, will deliver brief introductory remarks.
Open Video Category
Member States