Available languages:
Panel Discussion on Disabilities - 34th Meeting 26th Regular Session of Human Rights Council
25 Jun 2014 -  Annual thematic discussion on technical cooperation and capacity-building in advancing the rights of persons with disabilities through legal and institutional frameworks, including public-private partnerships

Chair: H.E. Mr. Baudelaire Ndong Ella, President of the Human Rights Council

Opening statement: Ms. Flavia Pansieri, United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights

Introductory remarks: Ms. Mariclaire Acosta Urquidi, Member of the Board of Trustees of the Voluntary Fund for Technical Cooperation in the Field of Human Rights

Moderator: H.E. Mr. Krerkpan Roekchamnong, Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative of Thailand to the United Nations in Geneva

• Ms. Maria Soledad Cisternas Reyes, Chair of the Committee on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities
• Prof. Wiriya Namsiripongpun, Former member of the National Legislative Assembly and advisor to the Senate Committee on Children, Youth and Social Development, Women, the Elderly, the Disabled and the Disadvantaged, Thailand
• Ms. Rosangela Berman Bieler, Chief of the Disability Section, UNICEF
• Mr. Yannis Vardakastanis, Chairperson of the International Disability Alliance
• Ms. Ingrid Ihme, Head of Telenor Open Mind, Norway

- 34th Plenary Meeting 26th Regular Session of the Human Rights Council.

HRC extranet (information on daily updates, draft documentation, copies of oral statements etc.)

Costa Rica (on behalf of the CELAC), Mr. Mario Alberto Vega Hernandez
Philippines on behalf of ASEAN, Ms. Cecilia B. Rebong
European Union, Ms. Louise Wagner
Iran (Islamic Republic of), Ms. Zahra Ershadi
Cuba, Ms. Yamirka Fernández Palacios
Spain, Mr. Vicente Cacho
Maldives, Ms. Shiuneen Rasheed
Morocco, Mr. Abdelkader Abidine
Qatar, Ms. Noor Alsada
Ireland, Mr. Cathal Loughney
New Zealand, Ms. Alanna Messent
Sri Lanka, Mr. Chandana Weerasena
Verein Sudwind Entwicklungspolitik, Ms. Sholeh Zamini
United States of America, Ms. Rachel Spring
Norway, Ms. Elin Engelsen
Indonesia, Mr. Acep Somanti
Turkey, Mr. Selçuk Ozcar
Australia, Ms. Ruth Stone
Finland, Ms. Marjo Pekkanen
Sudan, Ms. Omaima Al Sharief
Austria, Mr. Thomas Hajnoczi
Russian Federation, Mr. Dmitry Vorobyev
Italy, Mr. Marco Lapadura
Brazil, Ms. Regina Dunlop
Thailand, Ms. Manusavee Monsakul
International Labour Organization, Mr. Stefan Tromel
Viet Nam, Mr. Pham Thi Kim Anh
Benin, Mr. Vincent Choubiyi
Ecuador, Mr. Luis Gallegos Chiriboga

* In line with established practice the interactive debate and its webcast are made accessible to persons with disabilities through captioning and sign language interpretation in international sign. In case of any inconsistency between the spoken intervention in the original language and the sign language interpretation or captioning, the text of the original spoken intervention prevails.

Open Video Category
Non-Governmental Organizations