Available languages:
Timor-Leste v. Australia (3 March 2014)
3 Mar 2014 -  The International Court of Justice (ICJ), principal judicial organ of the UN delivers an Order in the case Timor-Leste v Australia (request for provisional mesaures by Timor-Leste) on 3 March 2014 at the Peace Palace, seat of the Court.
La Cour internationale de Justice (CIJ), organe judiciaire principal des Nations Unies, rend une ordonnance en l’affaire Timor-Leste c Australie (demande en indication de mesures conservatoires déposée par le Timor-Leste), le 3 mars 2014, au Palais de la Paix, à La Haye.

Session starts on Monday 3 March 2014 at 3 pm CET.
La séance débute le lundi 3 mars 2014 à 15 heures CET.

L’agent du Timor-Leste est S. Exc. M. Joaquim A.M.L da Fonseca. The Agent of Timor-Leste is H.E. Mr Joaquim A.M.L da Fonseca.
L’agent de l’Australie est M. John Reid. The Agent of Australia is Mr. John Reid.


Click here to view the complete ICJ file of the Timor-Leste v Australia case: http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/index.php?p1=3&p2=1&k=17&case=156&code=tla
The history of the Timor-Leste v Australia case is available in press releases 2013/41, 2013/42, 2014/1 and 2014/6, available here: http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/index.php?p1=3&p2=1&k=17&case=156&code=tla&lang=en

Cliquer ici pour consulter le dossier CIJ complet de l’affaire: http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/index.php?p1=3&p2=1&k=17&case=156&code=tla&lang=fr
Pour consulter l’historique de la procédure, voir les communiqués de presse nr 2013/41, 2013/42, 2014/1 et 2014/6, disponibles ici: http://www.icj-cij.org/docket/index.php?p1=3&p2=1&k=17&case=156&code=tla&lang=fr

The International Court of Justice (ICJ) is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations. It was established by the United Nations Charter in June 1945 and began its activities in April 1946. The seat of the Court is at the Peace Palace in The Hague (Netherlands). Of the six principal organs of the United Nations, it is the only one not located in New York. The Court has a twofold role: first, to settle, in accordance with international law, legal disputes submitted to it by States (its judgments have binding force and are without appeal for the parties concerned); and, second, to give advisory opinions on legal questions referred to it by duly authorized United Nations organs and agencies of the system. The Court is composed of 15 judges elected for a nine-year term by the General Assembly and the Security Council of the United Nations. Independent of the United Nations Secretariat, it is assisted by a Registry, its own international secretariat, whose activities are both judicial and diplomatic, as well as administrative. The official languages of the Court are French and English. Also known as the “World Court”, it is the only court of a universal character with general jurisdiction.
The ICJ, a court open only to States for contentious proceedings, and to certain organs and institutions of the United Nations system for advisory proceedings, should not be confused with the other mostly criminal judicial institutions based in The Hague and adjacent areas, such as the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia (ICTY, an ad hoc court created by the Security Council), the International Criminal Court (ICC, the first permanent international criminal court, established by treaty, which does not belong to the United Nations system), the Special Tribunal for Lebanon (STL, an independent judicial body composed of Lebanese and international judges, which is not a United Nations tribunal and does not form part of the Lebanese judicial system), or the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA, an independent institution which assists in the establishment of arbitral tribunals and facilitates their work, in accordance with the Hague Convention of 1899).
Recent Video On Demand