Human Rights Council

4th Intersessional Meeting of Human Rights Council…

4th Intersessional Meeting of Human Rights Council
Production Date
Video Length
Investing in a human rights-based recovery from COVID-19 and implementation of the 2030 Agenda

Building Back Better toward a renewed social contract 

The Human Rights Council-mandated meeting focuses on Sustainable Development Goal 5 on achieving gender equality and empowering all women and girls, and Sustainable Development Goal 17 on strengthening the means of implementation to revitalize the global partnership for sustainable development. The discussion centres around practical experiences, achievements, challenges, lessons learned, and new ideas for implementing the 2030 Agenda in light of COVID-19 by highlighting measures to mainstream gender and address inequalities.

Prime Minister Mirtha Esther Vásquez Chuquilín of Peru and Nada Al-Nashif, United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights, address the meeting.

Full list of speakers:

1st SLOT 

  • Ambassador Mr. Galib Israfilov, Azerbaijan (on behalf of a group of countries)
  • Carlijn Spijkers, European Union
  • Mr. Rongvudhi Virabutr Ambassador and Deputy Permanent Representative, Thailand (video statement)
  • Mr. Manuel García, First Secretary, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)
  • Ambassador Mustafizur Rahman, Bangladesh
  • Ambassador Juan Antonio Quintanilla, Cuba
  • Ambassador Ms Yevheniia Filipenko, Ukraine
  • Ms. Anniken Enersen, Minister Counsellor, Norway (video statement)
  • Ambassador Ms. Kirsti Kauppi, Permanent Representative, Finland (video statement)
  • Ambassador Mr. Luis Juan Chuquihuara Chil, Peru (video statement)
  • Ms. Seema Pujani, First Secretary, India (video statement)
  • Jyotika KALRA, National Human Rights Commisison of India (video statement)
  • Mélanie Nédélec, Make Mothers Matter (video statement)
  • Hisashi Saito, iuventum e.V. (video statement)
2nd SLOT 
  • Ms. Hawla Ahmed Didi, Deputy Permanent Representative, Maldives
  • Ms. Guzal Khusanova, First Secretary, Russian Federation
  • Nono Simelela, World Health Organization
  • Sarah Rattray, United Nations Development Programme
  • Mr. Hamid Ahmadi, Minister-Counsellor, Iran (Islamic Republic of)
  • Ms. Maria Mihailescu, Minister-Counsellor, Romania (video statement)
  • Ambassador Mr. Frank Tressler, Chile (video statement)
  • Ambassador Mr. Tovar da Silva Nunes, Brazil (video statement)
  • Mr. Han Xincheng, Attaché, China
  • Ms. Zoya Stepanyan, First Secretary, Armenia