(Part 1) Special Meeting of the Counter-Terrorism…

(Part 1) Special Meeting of the Counter-Terrorism Committee on "countering the use of new and emerging technologies for terrorist purposes" (New Delhi, India).
Production Date
Video Length
Asset Language
Subject Topical
Special Meeting of the Counter-Terrorism Committee on "countering the use of new and emerging technologies for terrorist purposes" and associated events (Mumbai and New Delhi, India, 28-29 October 2022).

Welcome remarks • Message from the Secretary-General of the United Nations

Plenary session: Opening of special meeting • Minute of silence to commemorate the victims of terrorism

Statements: • Opening Remarks: Chair of the Counter-Terrorism Committee – H.E. Mrs. Ruchira Kamboj, Permanent Representative of the Government of India to the United Nations • Keynote Address: Dr. Subrahmanyam Jaishankar, External Affairs Minister of India • Statement: H.E. Mr. Michael Moussa ADAMO, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Gabon • Statement: H.E. Ms. Shirley Ayorkar Botchwey, Minister for Foreign Affairs and Regional Integration of Ghana • Statement by His Excellency Mr James Cleverly, Secretary of State for Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Affairs of the United Kingdom (TBC) • Statement by Her Excellency Ms. Megi Fino, Deputy Minister for Europe and Foreign Affairs, Republic of Albania • Statement by Her Excellency, Ms. Reem Ebrahim Al Hashimy, Minister of State for International Cooperation of United Arab Emirates • United Nations Office of Counter-Terrorism (UNOCT) – Mr. Vladimir Voronkov, Under-Secretary-General for Counter-Terrorism • United Nations Office of the Secretary-General's Envoy on Technology – Mr. Amandeep Singh Gill, Under-Secretary-General and Envoy on Technology (via recorded statement) • Counter-Terrorism Committee Executive Directorate (CTED) – Mr. Weixiong Chen, Acting Executive Director • CEO(s) of major global technology company(ies) [TBC] Moderator: The Chair of the Counter-Terrorism Committee

--------------- Thematic Briefings I: Countering terrorist exploitation of Information and Communication Technologies (ICTs) • Overview of discussions from CTED-led technical sessions on ICT – Ms. Jennifer Bramlette, Legal Officer and Coordinator for Information and Communication Technology (ICT), CTED • Global Internet Forum to Counter-Terrorism (GIFCT) – Dr. Erin Saltman, Interim Executive Director and Director of Programming • Tech Against Terrorism (TaT) – Mr. Adam Hadley, Executive Director • United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) –Ms. Antonia Marie De Meo, Director • Meta – Mr. Nawab Osman, Head of Counter-Terrorism and Dangerous Organizations, Asia Pacific (APAC) • Extremism and Gaming Research Network (EGRN) – Mr. Galen Lamphere-Englund, Co-Founder and Convener • Mythos Labs – Mr. Priyank Mathur, CEO • Resolve Network Research Advisory Council – Dr. Christina Schori Liang, Head of Terrorism and Preventing Violent Extremism at the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP); Member of the Global Initiative Network • Naif Arab University for Security Sciences (NAUSS) of the Arab Interior Ministers' Council (AIMC) – Dr. Abdulrazaq Al Morjan, Director of the NAUSS Cybercrime and Digital Forensics Center • Internet and Jurisdiction Policy Network – Mr. Ajith Francis, Director, Data & Jurisdiction Program • Article 19 – Ms. Anna Oosterlinck, Head of United Nations Team Moderator: Chair of the Counter-Terrorism Committee

--------------- Thematic Briefings II: Countering terrorism financing – threats and opportunities related to new payment technologies and fundraising methods • Overview of discussions from CTED-led technical sessions on CFT – Ms. Svetlana Martynova, Senior Legal Officer and Coordinator on Countering the Financing of Terrorism (CFT), CTED • Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team pursuant to resolutions 1526 (2004) and 2253 (2015) concerning ISIL (Da'esh), Al-Qaida and the Taliban and associated individuals and entities – Mr. Justin Hustwitt, Coordinator, Analytical Support and Sanctions Monitoring Team • Financial Action Task Force (FATF) – Ms. Elisa de Anda Madrazo, Vice-President • Financial Action Task Force of Latin America (GAFILAT) – Ms. Ing. Carla Mera, President Pro Tempore • Eurasian Group on Combatting Money Laundering and Terrorism Financing (EAG) – Mr. Sergey Teterukov, Executive Secretary • The Counter Extremism Project – Dr. Hans-Jakob Schindler, Senior Director, co-chair of the Advisory Board of the Global Diplomatic Forum, Director of Compliance and Capacity Skills International • Global Center on Cooperative Security – Ms. Tracey Durner, Director of Financial Integrity and Inclusion • Centre for Financial Crime and Security Studies at Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) – Mr. Stephen Reimer, Research Fellow and Head of the Threat Finance Programme • Independent Expert in Forensic Accounting and Anti-Corruption – Ms. Navita Srikant • Al Kawakibi Democracy Transition Center – Mr. Amine Ghali, Director • Chainalysis, Inc. – Mr. Sanjeev Shahi, Regional Director, India & SAARC Moderator: France, Vice-Chair of the Counter-Terrorism Committee