General Assembly

General Assembly: 32nd plenary meeting, 76th session…

General Assembly: 32nd plenary meeting, 76th session
Production Date
Video Length
Subject Topical
Election of the members of the International Law Commission.
The General Assembly met today to elect members of the International Law Commission, the United Nations organ tasked with the progressive development of international law and its codification. Voting by way of secret ballot, the Assembly elected a total of 34 individuals to serve five‑year terms of office with the Geneva‑based body, beginning on 1 January 2023. They constituted nine nationals from African States, eight from Asia‑Pacific States, three from Eastern European States, six from Latin American and Caribbean States and eight from Western European and Other States. From African States, it elected Yacouba Cissé (Côte d’Ivoire), Ahmed Amin Fathalla (Egypt), Charles Chernor Jalloh (Sierra Leone), Ahmed Laraba (Algeria), Ivon Mingashang (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Phoebe Okowa (Kenya), Hassan Ouazzani Chahdi (Morocco), Alioune Sall (Senegal) and Louis Savadogo (Burkina Faso). From Asian States, it elected Masahiko Asada (Japan), Huang Huikang (China), Lee Keun-Gwan (Republic of Korea), Vilawan Mangklatanakul (Thailand), Andreas Mavroyiannis (Cyprus), Hong Thao Nguyen (Viet Nam), Bimal Patel (India) and Munkh-Orgil Tsend (Mongolia). From Eastern European States, it elected Bogdan Aurescu (Romania), Mārtinš Paparinskis (Latvia) and Evgeny Zagaynov (Russian Federation). From Latin American and Caribbean States, it elected Carlos Argüello Gómez (Nicaragua), George Rodrigo Bandeira Galindo (Brazil), Claudio Grossman Guiloff (Chile), Mario Oyarzábal (Argentina), Juan José Ruda Santolaria (Peru) and Marcelo Vázquez-Bermúdez (Ecuador). From Western European and Other States, it elected Dapo Akande (United Kingdom), Rolf Einar Fife (Norway), Mathias Forteau (France), Patrícia Galvão Teles (Portugal), Giuseppe Nesi (Italy), Nilüfer Oral (Turkey), August Reinisch (Austria) and Penelope Ridings (New Zealand). Before the Assembly were a number of notes by the Secretary‑General concerning the candidates (documents A/76/82, A/76/399/Add.1 and A/76/82/Add.1), the consolidated list of candidates (document A/76/399) and their curricula vitae (document A/76/62). The General Assembly will reconvene at 10 a.m. Monday, 15 November, to debate the question of equitable representation on and increase in the membership of the Security Council and other matters related to the Security Council.