Security Council

Preventing conflict-related sexual violence through…

Preventing conflict-related sexual violence through demilitarization and gender-responsive arms control - Security Council, Open Debate, 9614th meeting

Production Date
Video Length
Women, Peace and Security: Preventing conflict-related sexual violence through demilitarisation and gender-responsive arms control. 
View moreView less

The annual open debate on CRSV provides an opportunity for Member States to reflect on emerging themes associated with the systematic use of sexual violence by state and non-state actors as a tactic of war, torture, and terrorism in armed conflicts. This year the debate on CRSV will focus on preventing CRSV through demilitarisation and gender-responsive armed control. It will aim to identify opportunities for cross-leveraging arms control and disarmament treaties, instruments, and frameworks to more effectively prevent CRSV, and to increase women's leadership and influence in formulating policy and decision-making in this field.


  • Presidency: His Excellency Chris Fearne, Deputy Prime Minister, Malta.
  • Briefer: Ms. Pramila Patten, Special Representative of the Secretary-General on Sexual Violence in Conflict.
  • Briefer: Ms. Niemat Ahmadi, founder and President, Darfur Women Action Group.
  • Briefer: Ms. Danai Gurira, Goodwill Ambassador.
  • Statement: His Excellency Chris Fearne, Deputy Prime Minister, Malta.
  • Statements: Switzerland, Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone, Japan, China, Algeria, Russian Federation, United States of America, Mozambique, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, France, Guyana, Ecuador, Slovenia.
  • Further statements: United States of America, Russian Federation.
  • Statement: His Excellency Nuno Sampaio, Vice-Minister for Foreign Affairs, Portugal.
  • Statements: Egypt, Yemen, Guatemala, Mexico.
  • Statement: Her Excellency Laetitia Courtois, Permanent Observer and Head of Delegation, International Committee of the Red Cross.
  • Statements: Costa Rica, South Africa, United Arab Emirates, Bangladesh.
  • Statement: His Excellency Stavros Lambrinidis, Head of the Delegation of the European Union to the United Nations.
  • Statement: Kingdom of the Netherlands (on behalf of: LGBTI Core Group).
  • Statement: Chile.
  • Statement: Luxembourg (on behalf of: Benelux).
  • Statements: Indonesia, Brazil, Lithuania, Estonia, Dominican Republic, India, Latvia, Spain.
  • Statement: Canada (on behalf of: Group of Friends of women, peace and security).
  • Statements: Panama, Hungary, Morocco, Austria, Thailand, Italy, Czechia, Croatia.
  • Statement: Denmark (on behalf of: Nordic countries).
  • Statements: Albania, Poland, Ukraine, Colombia, Bulgaria, Liechtenstein, Germany, Australia, Ireland, El Salvador, Andorra, Malaysia, Nepal, Sri Lanka.
  • Statement: Observer State of the Holy See.
  • The meeting was suspended.

View moreView less