Available languages:
Empretec Women in Business Awards 2014 Ceremony - World Investment Forum 2014
15 Oct 2014 -  Moderator: Mr. Olivier Dominik (Radio Télévision Suisse) & Ms. Bisila Bokoko (Bisila Bokoko Embassy International)
The Empretec Women in Business Awards (E-WBA) are granted to three women-owned businesses that have benefited from the business development services of the Empretec programme – a pioneering UNCTAD programme for the promotion of entrepreneurship that operates in 36 countries.

This year marks the 4th edition of the E-WBA and in line with the World Investment Forum’s theme, Investing in Sustainable Development, the awards ceremony will highlight the key role that women entrepreneurs have in contributing to sustainable development through job creation, innovation and strengthening local capacity. Two special recognitions will also be given for green and social entrepreneurship.

The 10 finalists come from Africa, Latin America and the Middle East and work in a variety of sectors. They all share a contagious passion for their work and are using their role as businesswomen to give back to their communities.

They are:
Lorena Maria Eugenia Picasso (Argentina)
Kelly Dantas de Vasconcelos (Brazil)
Tracy Antoinette Douglas (Guyana)
Lina Jalil Khalifeh (Jordan)
Maya Sewnath (Mauritius)
Lara Cookey (Nigeria)
Thiane Diagne (Senegal)
Renay dan der Berg (South Africa)
Angelica Rumsey (Zambia)
Divine Ndhulukula (Zimbabwe)

Mr. Mukhisa Kituyi, Secretary-General of UNCTAD
H.E. Mr. Richard Espinosa, Coordinating Minister of Production, Employment and Competitiveness, Ecuador
H.E. Ms. Tarja Kaarina Halonen, Former President of the Republic of Finland
Ms. Aisha Alfardan, Vice Chairwoman of the Qatari Business Women’s Association
Mr. Michael Møller, Director-General, UNOG
Mr. James Zhan, Director, Division on Investment and Enterprise, UNCTAD
Mr. Roland Dominicé, CEO Symbiotics
Dr. Rama Mani, Performance Artist of the Spirit, Special performance on women’s empowerment
Video Message by Ms. Phumzile Mlambo Ngucka, Executive Director, UN Women