Available languages:
Global Energy Association Announces the 2020 Global Energy Prize Laureates
8 Sep 2020 -  On 8 September the Global Energy Association (GEA) announced the 2020 laureates of its annual Global Energy Prize. The three laureates were identified following the results of the GEA International Award Committee.
They are Carlo Rubbia from Italy, Peidong Yang from the USA, and Nikolaos Hatziargyriou from Greece. Carlo Rubbia has been awarded in the Conventional Energy nomination for the promotion of energy use sustainability in the field of nuclear waste and natural gas pyrolysis. Peidong Yang has been recognised in the Non-Conventional Energy nomination for a pioneering invention of nanoparticle-based solar cell and artificial photosynthesis. Nikolaos Hatziargyriou earned his award in the New Ways of Energy Application nomination for his contribution to the stability of power grid system by pioneering a smart microgrid system using artificial intelligence.
The laureates were announced on Tuesday in the city of Kaluga at Tsiolkovsky State Museum of the History of Cosmonautics, during a ceremony attended by Acting Governor of Kaluga Region Vladislav Shapsha, President of the GEA Sergey Brilev, and Chairman of the Association’s Board of Trustees, Vice Chairman of the World Energy Council Oleg Budargin. Rae Kwon Chung, the Chairman of the Award Committee and the Nobel Peace Prize laureate, attended the ceremony via conference call.
Since 2003, 42 researchers have become Global Energy Prize laureates representing 15 countries: Australia, Austria, Canada, Denmark, France, Greece, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK, Ukraine, and the USA. Global Energy Association members are PJSC Gazprom, PJSC Surgutneftegaz, and Rosseti FGC UES. The UN Information Center in Moscow has provided information support to the event, which is a prominent contribution to the global climate action effort.