Available languages:
Panel Discussion on Rights of the Child - 16th Meeting, 34th Regular Session Human Rights Council
6 Mar 2017 -  Annual full-day meeting on the rights of the child

Theme: Protection of the rights of the child in the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development
Chair: H.E. Mr. Joaquín Alexander Maza Martelli, President of the Human Rights Council
Opening statement: Ms. Kate Gilmore, United Nations Deputy High Commissioner for Human Rights
Moderator: H.E. Mr. Ricardo González Arenas, Permanent Representative of Uruguay to the United Nations Office and other international organizations in Geneva
UNICEF video screening: Children’s Rights and the 2030 Agenda (2.10 min.)

• Mr. Benyam Dawit Mezmur, Chairperson, Committee on the Rights of the Child
• Ms. Marilena Viviani, Director of UNICEF Geneva Liaison Office, United Nations Children’s Fund
• Ms. Maud de Boer-Buquicchio, Special Rapporteur on the sale of children, child prostitution and child pornography
• Ms. Delia Pop, President, Child Rights Connect and Director of Programmes and Global Advocacy, Hope and Homes for Children
El Salvador (On Behalf CELAC),Ms. Carmen Elena Castillo
Singapore (On Behalf of the Assocation of Southeast Asian Nations),Mr. Jonathan Han
Iceland (On Behalf of Nordic Countries),Mr. Högni S. Kristjánsson
European Union,Ms. Luise Auken Wagner
Iraq (On Behalf of the Arab Group),Mr. Mouayed Saleh
Tunisia (On Behalf of The Arab Group),Mr. Walid Doudech
Pakistan (On Behalf of OIC),Mr. Qazi Saleem Ahmed Khan
Pakistan ,Mr. Qazi Saleem Ahmed Khan
Brazil,Mr. Carlos Henrique Zimmerma
Malaysia,Mr. Syed Edwan Anwar
Venezuela (Blivarian Republic of ),Mr. Emilio Sedundo Barroeta Guillén
Greece,Mr. Michail Manousakis
Joint statement Child Rights Connect,Ms. Laure Elmaleh
Action Canada for Population & Development,Ms. Nmitika Mjwana
CIRID (Centre Independent de Recherches et d'Iniatives pour le Dialogue),Ms. Hooria Mashhour Ahmed Kaid
Qatar,Ms. Noor Ibrahim Al-Sada
Estonia,MR. Andre Pung
Mexico,Ms. Ana Paula Lavalle
Montenegro,Mr. Milorad Šcepanovic
Israel,Mr. Brian Frenkel
Libya,Mr. Salem Abaiss
Haiti,Mr. Pierre André Dunbar
Croatia ,Ms. Vesna Batistic Kos
Republic of Korea,Ms. Wun-jeung Chang
Belgium,Mr. Thomas Stevens
Spain,Ms. Ana María Menéndez Pérez
Namibia,Ms. Sabine Böhlke-Möller
High Commissioner for Human Rights in the Russian Federation,Ms. Tatiana Moskalkova, Commissioner
Swedish Federation of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual & Transgender Rights - RFSL Co-sponsor:
International Lesbian and Gay (Joint statement),Ms. Micah Grzywnowich
Center for Reproductive Rights, Inc., The,Ms. Paola Salwa Daher
Open Video Category